Faculty of Commerce & Economics

Advisory Board

Academic Advisory Council Members

Shri. Nanik Rupani

Nanik Rupani (born 1941) is an Indian Entrepreneur and Philanthropist who is the Chairman of Roopmeck Electricals Pvt. Ltd. He is also the Chairman Emeritus of Priyadarshni Academy, a prominent NGO which provides educational scholarships to needy and deserving students. They promote the Indian classical performing arts among the youth. Priyadarshni Academy has also presented literary awards in four Indian languages that spreads ancient India’s wisdom to an international audience and holds a biennial Global Awards program which has been called by many Indian leaders as India’s Nobel Martin Luther King III who was an American awardee

Shri Rahul Karad

Rahul Vishwanath Karad is an enterprising young educationist in the forefront of the 68 institutes strong MAEER’s MIT Group of Institutions, Pune with over 55,000 students under its fold. A graduate in engineering and a post graduate in management from Cardiff U.K, Rahul, 38, is an alumnus of the Harvard Business School, U.S.A. Rahul is advancing the inherited vision and mission of his visionary academician father Prof. Dr. Vishwanath Karad, Founder MIT Group of Institutions, with a fearless passion and deep rooted patriotic content in his heart.

Dr. Narendra Jadhav

Narendra Damodar Jadhav (born 28 May 1953) is an Indian economist, educationist, public policy expert, professor and writer in English, Marathi and Hindi. He is an expert on Babasaheb Ambedkar. Currently he is a Member of Rajya Sabha, the upper house of Indian Parliament. He previously served as member of the Planning Commission of India and the National Advisory Council. Prior to this, he worked as Vice Chancellor of Savitribai Phule Pune University, International Monetary Fund (IMF) and headed economic research at the Reserve Bank of India. Jadhav is a recipient of 67 national and international awards including four Honorary D.Litt Degrees and the title Commander of the Order of Academic Palms by the Government of France.

Dr. Jairaj Purandare

Jairaj (Jai) Purandare is the Founder Chairman of JMP Advisors Pvt Ltd, recognized again as a leading Tax firm in India in the International Tax Review World Tax 2017 Directory. The firm is based in Mumbai, India. Jai has over three decades of experience in tax and business advisory matters and is an authority on taxation. Mr. Jairaj was Regional Managing Partner and Country Leader–Markets & Industries of PricewaterhouseCoopers India. Jai was earlier Chairman of Ernst & Young India (EY). Jairaj was the Country Head of the Tax & Business Advisory practice of Andersen India, before joining EY.

Mrs. Bhavna Doshi

Mrs. Bhavna G. Doshi serves as a Senior Advisor of KPMG. Mrs. Doshi provides advisory services in the fields of taxation, accounting, corporate and regulatory matters. She served as the President and Vice President of Indian Merchants’ Chambers. She has rich experience of over 3 decades as Partner in renowned firms of chartered accountants, B S Mehta & Co, RSM & Co and Bharat S Raut & Co (member firm of KPMG in India). She has advised national and international companies on varied matters relating to taxation, restructuring, valuation of shares and businesses, family partitions, arbitration, accounting matters and joint ventures, during her professional career of over 25 years.

Dr. V K Sharma

Mr. V. K. Sharma has a distinguished track record of service with the Reserve Bank of India (RBI) and as a member of the Markets Committee of RBI for International Settlements, Basel Switzerland. Mr. Sharma retired as Executive Director from RBI on 31st December, 2012. As Executive Director, Mr. Sharma was responsible for various critical and sensitive Departments covering areas such as Financial Markets, Foreign Exchange Reserves Management, Internal Debt Management, Human Resources, Administration, Currency Management, Rural Planning and Credit, Financial Inclusion, Customer Service, Premises and Regulation and Supervision of Urban Co-operative Banks.

Prof. Thiagu Ranganathan

Prof. Thiagu Ranganathan works in the area of Economics. He did his Ph.D. from Indian Institute of Technology (IIT) Bombay. His thesis analyzed hedging and price risk management strategies using soybean futures for farmers and processors. His previous experience was in the Agricultural Economics Research Unit (AERU) at the Institute of Economic Growth (IEG), New Delhi. He has worked on various research projects funded by the Ministry of Agriculture (MoA), International Labour Organisation (ILO), Australian Centre for International Agricultural Research (ACIAR), and Indian Council of Social Science Research (ICSSR). His current research involves work in the topics related to knowledge formation among farmers, and the impact of climate change on rural livelihoods. He has coordinated workshops on “Rural Livelihoods and Wellbeing” and “Impact Evaluation Methods for Research in Climate Change and Agricultural Economics”. He also has significant years of experience in the corporate and development sector.

Deena Mehta

Deena Mehta is an Indian businesswoman, broker, investor, financial adviser, chartered accountant and social activist. She is the managing director and chief executive officer of Asit C. Mehta Investment Intermediates Ltd. Mehta was one of the first female members of Bombay Stock Exchange, Mumbai, and eventually went on to become its first woman president. Mehta was the first woman director on the board of the Bombay Stock Exchange. She was vice-president for two years and was elected president of the Exchange in 2001. Her tenure lasted a total of six years from April 1996 to March 2002.

Piya Mahataney

Piya Mahtaney is a Visiting Lecturer for the Economics faculty at St Xavier’s College, India and Xavier’s Institute of Communications. She is also a council member of the Forum of Free Enterprise and the author of Economic Con Game (2002) and India, China and Globalization (Palgrave, 2008). Mahtaney has also worked as a senior feature writer for the Economic Times, India.

Gauri Kirloskar

Ms. Gauri Atul Kirloskar has been a Non-Executive Director of Kirloskar Oil Engines Limited since June 17, 2014. Ms. Kirloskar served as an Additional Director of Kirloskar Industries Ltd since April 26, 2012 until September 29, 2014.

Shri. Basant Gupta

Shri Basant Gupta is ex- IFS and former ambassador of India to Rome.