Students Activities / Initiatives


Students Activities / Initiatives


MIT-WPU amongst the top 10 teams in India securing the 4th position

Date: 14th – 25th April 2020

Medium : Online hackathon

Details: SAMADHAN Mega Online Challenge was a National Level 12 day Online event, organised by the Ministry Of Human Resource Development India in association with AICTE, Innovatio Curis, FORGE and MHRD Innovation Cell. The event was partnered by AWS and Intel. Over 2500+ teams had participated from all over India. Each teams had to develop a software/ hardware based solution for tackling the problem of COVID 19 and other related issues. Team Innovators Hub MIT WPU had developed a software app for tackling the pandemic issues of the underpriviledged. The concept was liked by all the mentors and judging authorities. Team Innovators Hub cleared the round 0, round 1 and round 2 of the stages and finished amongst the top 10 teams in India securing the 4th position.


Intelligent Traffic Management System- Innovators Hub MIT WPU secured the 2nd prize

Date: 23rd -25th September 2019

Location : Thyagaraj Stadium, New Delhi

Details: Open Innovation Contest organized by the Times Technoxian group of India in association with AICRA (All India Council for Robotics and Automation) was an international 3 day event held at Delhi. Teams from about 60 countries had come to Delhi to pariticipate in the event. Team Innovators Hub of MIT WPU Pune had also participated in the event amongst 2600+ teams from around the world. Open Innovation ideas were taken up by all the team present from around the world. Team Innovators Hub MITWPU had developed a software and hardware prototype for an Intelligent Traffic Management System which was one of its kind. The project presentation and concept based on its sustainability and feasilibilty was appealing to all the judges present from the different fields of Engineering and Applied sciences. Amongst all the teams present, Innovators Hub MIT WPU secured the 2nd prize for their project. The team was rewarded with a Winning certificate, medal and a cash prize of Rs 15000/-


The Indian Society of Structural Engineers was founded on 29th January, 1997 by ten advisory trustees under the leadership of great visionary & eminent engineer Late R. L. Nene, in response to unique problems plaguing the Structural Engineering Profession for years. The goal of the Society is to enhance the dignity of the profession and to define suitable norms for the professional responsibility and remuneration thereby bringing about brotherhood and unity, among the fraternity.

For the academic and practical enhancement of the students, it was decided to have ISSE Student Chapter which will render to organize expert lectures and actually field training. Hence, the ISSE MIT WPU Chapter was inaugurated on 15th February, 2019 and was graced by the presence of the Chief Guest Prof. C V. R. Murty and other ISSE Officials.

Chairman of ISSE MIT WPU Student Chapter- Prof. Dr. H. R. Magar Patil

NIRMITEE- A National Level Technical Fest, School of Civil Engineering, MITWPU, Pune

Every Year a National Level Technical Paper Presentation meet for the students is being organized for the last seventeen years. In addition to this, model making and AutoCAD, Rotary youth Leadership Awards (RYLA) activity, technical quiz, town planning, tendering, line out competitions are also being organized. There is an excellent response to this activity from the various colleges from different parts of the country.

Faculty Coordinator: Dr. S. S. Pimplikar & Prof. Pravin Minde

Civil Engineering Students Association (CESA)

The formation of Civil Engineering Association (CESA) targets the primary aim of exposing potential civil engineers to the challenges of the profession. The organization is one of the most active Civil Engineering Associations with both students and faculty as its members. Civil Engineering Students Association is a non-registered, non-profit organization within the department of Civil Engineering, MIT WPU.

Guiding Faculty: Prof Dr S.S. Pimplikar, Prof Dr S.A. Bokli, Prof P.R. Minde